Skip to content
Hampshire Counts — Hampshire, in numbers.Local help →

Hampshire, in numbers

People and living standards

Hampshire County Council area — excludes Portsmouth and Southampton. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Hampshire County Council area — excludes Portsmouth and Southampton. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 1,178,711 in 1991 to 1,451,703 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Hampshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 1,210,391 people in 1996; 1,451,703 people in 2025. 19.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Hampshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
19911,178,711
19921,183,765
19931,188,187
19941,196,481
19951,203,112
19961,210,391
19971,217,815
19981,223,022
19991,232,819
20001,236,408
20011,241,431
20021,245,073
20031,250,515
20041,255,419
20051,263,075
20061,272,498
20071,283,441
20081,293,565
20091,301,706
20101,312,347
20111,322,118
20121,331,572
20131,339,946
20141,349,948
20151,358,341
20161,368,397
20171,373,783
20181,378,177
20191,384,378
20201,391,311
20211,406,110
20221,417,419
20231,432,948
20241,445,170
20251,451,703
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Hampshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 249,468 people in 1996; 252,017 people in 2025. 1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Hampshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991240,422
1992242,234
1993244,443
1994247,674
1995249,081
1996249,468
1997250,199
1998250,005
1999250,978
2000250,707
2001249,415
2002248,046
2003247,236
2004246,551
2005245,691
2006244,715
2007244,443
2008244,256
2009244,416
2010245,337
2011246,357
2012247,129
2013247,175
2014247,402
2015247,603
2016248,853
2017249,429
2018249,293
2019249,080
2020248,784
2021249,574
2022251,488
2023253,605
2024253,677
2025252,017
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Hampshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 772,559 people in 1996; 866,998 people in 2025. 12.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Hampshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991763,003
1992763,658
1993763,380
1994766,039
1995768,382
1996772,559
1997776,894
1998780,033
1999786,025
2000787,098
2001790,297
2002792,719
2003796,387
2004799,011
2005804,153
2006811,716
2007818,414
2008823,237
2009825,186
2010827,860
2011829,792
2012827,340
2013827,419
2014829,438
2015831,897
2016835,410
2017835,663
2018835,740
2019837,464
2020840,903
2021850,077
2022852,699
2023860,168
2024865,781
2025866,998
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Hampshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 188,364 people in 1996; 332,688 people in 2025. 76.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Hampshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991175,286
1992177,873
1993180,364
1994182,768
1995185,649
1996188,364
1997190,722
1998192,984
1999195,816
2000198,603
2001201,719
2002204,308
2003206,892
2004209,857
2005213,231
2006216,067
2007220,584
2008226,072
2009232,104
2010239,150
2011245,969
2012257,103
2013265,352
2014273,108
2015278,841
2016284,134
2017288,691
2018293,144
2019297,834
2020301,624
2021306,459
2022313,232
2023319,175
2024325,712
2025332,688
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 1,400,899 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Hampshire · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh52,5423.8%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African14,3051%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups26,1981.9%
White1,296,73392.6%
Other ethnic group11,1210.8%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 1,317,788 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Hampshire · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White1,252,12395%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups18,0511.4%
Asian/Asian British35,3562.7%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British8,2980.6%
Other ethnic group3,9600.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 1,240,103 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Hampshire · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White1,212,73797.8%
Mixed8,7040.7%
Asian/Asian British9,2440.7%
Black/Black British3,2770.3%
Chinese/Other6,1410.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 11.2% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Hampshire council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £12,432.1 per person in 1997; £28,874.79 per person in 2024. 132.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Calculated for the county from the complete exact published district-code set: sum Table1 income totals and Table2 resident populations, then divide total pounds by population. This is a UK Facts calculation, not a directly published ONS county figure. It does not average district rates. All years use the same published district rows, not reconstructed historical councils. Source totals are rounded to £million, so derived per-person amounts have additional rounding uncertainty.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Hampshire council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199712,432.1
199812,566.41
199913,009.21
200013,708.26
200114,278.68
200214,633.68
200314,876.27
200415,591.61
200516,029.93
200616,574.49
200717,468.66
200817,950.39
200918,432.73
201018,411.29
201118,577.01
201219,404.88
201320,128.42
201420,546.72
201521,778.04
201621,833.58
201722,308.47
201823,136.36
201923,884.37
202023,442.64
202124,133.25
202225,394.35
202327,095.82
202428,874.79
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Hampshire council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 17.17% in 1997; 11.21% in 2024. 5.97 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Calculated for the county from the complete exact published district-code set: sum Table1 income totals and Table2 resident populations, then divide total pounds by population. This is a UK Facts calculation, not a directly published ONS county figure. It does not average district rates. All years use the same published district rows, not reconstructed historical councils. Source totals are rounded to £million, so derived per-person amounts have additional rounding uncertainty. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Hampshire council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199717.17
199816.07
199915
200015.17
200115.42
200215.66
200314.13
200414.88
200514.03
200613.18
200713.84
200813.98
200915.12
201013.99
201114.01
201214.89
201314.92
201413.62
201514.48
201613.38
201713.24
201813.36
201913.35
202011.68
202110.48
202210.58
202310.82
202411.21
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

59.7%

21 March 2021 · Hampshire County Council area — excludes Portsmouth and Southampton

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

13.6%

21 March 2021 · Hampshire County Council area — excludes Portsmouth and Southampton

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

14.7%

21 March 2021 · Hampshire County Council area — excludes Portsmouth and Southampton

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4.1%

21 March 2021 · Hampshire County Council area — excludes Portsmouth and Southampton

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£364,000

July 2026 · Hampshire County Council area — excludes Portsmouth and Southampton

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.