Skip to content
Hampshire Counts — Hampshire, in numbers.Local help →

Hart · Hampshire

People and living standards: Hart

Hart local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Hart local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 80,547 in 1991 to 103,335 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Hart council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 83,278 people in 1996; 103,335 people in 2025. 24.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Hart council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199180,547
199281,443
199381,752
199481,818
199582,078
199683,278
199782,939
199882,621
199982,988
200083,056
200183,590
200284,238
200385,180
200486,367
200587,519
200688,874
200789,866
200890,566
200990,986
201091,276
201191,662
201292,354
201393,015
201493,941
201594,766
201695,560
201796,322
201897,022
201997,727
202098,299
2021100,262
2022100,943
2023102,284
2024103,031
2025103,335
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Hart council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 17,066 people in 1996; 18,973 people in 2025. 11.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Hart council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199117,273
199217,342
199317,368
199417,342
199517,135
199617,066
199716,894
199816,607
199916,956
200016,881
200117,072
200217,242
200317,506
200417,869
200518,003
200618,120
200718,166
200818,141
200918,260
201018,333
201118,380
201218,591
201318,706
201418,789
201518,893
201619,083
201719,133
201819,132
201919,007
202018,866
202119,036
202219,141
202319,178
202419,148
202518,973
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Hart council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 56,591 people in 1996; 62,566 people in 2025. 10.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Hart council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199154,576
199255,194
199355,292
199455,231
199555,475
199656,591
199756,241
199856,008
199955,738
200055,703
200155,834
200256,017
200356,424
200456,880
200557,549
200658,389
200758,830
200858,991
200958,707
201058,345
201158,060
201257,680
201357,599
201457,944
201558,230
201658,316
201758,684
201859,111
201959,583
202060,054
202161,466
202261,520
202362,296
202462,594
202562,566
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Hart council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 9,621 people in 1996; 21,796 people in 2025. 126.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Hart council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
19918,698
19928,907
19939,092
19949,245
19959,468
19969,621
19979,804
199810,006
199910,294
200010,472
200110,684
200210,979
200311,250
200411,618
200511,967
200612,365
200712,870
200813,434
200914,019
201014,598
201115,222
201216,083
201316,710
201417,208
201517,643
201618,161
201718,505
201818,779
201919,137
202019,379
202119,760
202220,282
202320,810
202421,289
202521,796
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 99,404 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Hart · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh3,5953.6%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African8430.8%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups2,2312.2%
White91,95292.5%
Other ethnic group7830.8%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 91,033 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Hart · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White86,35594.9%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,4571.6%
Asian/Asian British2,4482.7%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British5060.6%
Other ethnic group2670.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 83,505 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Hart · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White81,57397.7%
Mixed5980.7%
Asian/Asian British6770.8%
Black/Black British2210.3%
Chinese/Other4360.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 30.8% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Hart council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £16,269 per person in 1997; £33,968 per person in 2024. 108.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Hart council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199716,269
199816,384
199916,797
200017,747
200118,206
200218,373
200318,418
200419,099
200519,368
200619,865
200720,939
200821,511
200921,876
201021,855
201122,155
201223,031
201323,866
201424,499
201526,449
201626,264
201726,725
201827,559
201928,481
202028,014
202128,516
202230,124
202331,958
202433,968
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Hart council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 53.3% in 1997; 30.8% in 2024. 22.5 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Hart council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199753.3
199851.3
199948.5
200049.1
200147.2
200245.2
200341.3
200440.7
200537.8
200635.6
200736.5
200836.6
200936.6
201035.3
201136
201236.4
201336.3
201435.5
201539
201636.4
201735.7
201835
201935.2
202033.5
202130.5
202231.2
202330.7
202430.8
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

62.8%

21 March 2021 · Hart local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

9.5%

21 March 2021 · Hart local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

10.9%

21 March 2021 · Hart local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

2.8%

21 March 2021 · Hart local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£481,000

July 2026 · Hart local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,414

August 2026 · Hart local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.