Skip to content
Hampshire Counts — Hampshire, in numbers.Local help →

Basingstoke and Deane · Hampshire

Projects: Basingstoke and Deane

Basingstoke and Deane local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

The local plans, investments and decisions worth following.

These are 4 selected projects and programmes checked against official sources. A plan is not a completed project; each record shows what the source establishes.

Basingstoke town centre

Basingstoke: town-centre masterplan

The council’s capital strategy takes forward a programme for homes, workspace and public areas.

Masterplan adopted; programme development and partnerships ongoing · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council with prospective delivery partners

Latest evidence: The strategy identifies potential development and partnership work. The masterplan’s capacity is not a count of completed homes or workspace.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
The named location is verified. An official project boundary has not been matched to current wards; no ward-wide impact is inferred.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Capital Programme Strategy 2026/27, February 2026 →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Use the council’s connected investment plan →

Make room for homes people can afford →

Connect local skills to local opportunities →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Basingstoke Leisure Park

Basingstoke: replacing the Aquadrome

The council plans a replacement leisure centre through a contract covering construction and operation.

Outline business case approved; later contract and build stage not verified · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council and a procured leisure operator

Latest evidence: The February 2026 strategy describes operator procurement and future construction. Its expected years are not proof of a contract award or opening.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
The named location is verified. An official project boundary has not been matched to current wards; no ward-wide impact is inferred.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Capital Programme Strategy 2026/27, February 2026 →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Use the council’s connected investment plan →

Keep leisure provision working through replacement →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Manydown, west of Basingstoke

Manydown: homes and supporting infrastructure

The planned new community links housing with roads, community facilities and countryside space.

Major development programme; current occupied-home count unverified · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council, Hampshire County Council and Manydown development partners

Latest evidence: The strategy describes phased development and infrastructure. Planned capacity and expected investment are not presented as delivered homes or resident outcomes.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
The named location is verified. An official project boundary has not been matched to current wards; no ward-wide impact is inferred.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Capital Programme Strategy 2026/27, February 2026 →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Use the council’s connected investment plan →

Make Manydown’s supporting facilities visible →

Make room for homes people can afford →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Buckskin, South Ham and Winklebury

Buckskin, South Ham and Winklebury regeneration

The council intends to continue working with housing associations on neighbourhood improvements.

Continuing programme in strategy; specific completed works unverified · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council and housing association partners

Latest evidence: The strategy names these priority residential areas. It does not establish the current delivery footprint or cost of every scheme.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
The named location is verified. An official project boundary has not been matched to current wards; no ward-wide impact is inferred.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Capital Programme Strategy 2026/27, February 2026 →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Keep established neighbourhoods visible alongside new growth →

Make room for homes people can afford →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →