The local plans, investments and decisions worth following.
These are 5 selected projects and programmes checked against official sources. A plan is not a completed project; each record shows what the source establishes.
Welborne Garden Village, north of Fareham
Welborne: homes and a new community
The first residents arrived in 2025. Schools, a village centre, jobs and transport are separate parts of the wider development.
First residents recorded; later phases ongoing or planned · source does not state a status date
Responsible body: Buckland Development and Welborne Land, with Fareham Borough Council and Hampshire County Council
Latest evidence: The council timeline records first occupations, open space and the start of village-centre construction in 2025. A primary-school consultation and a planned Junction 10 opening appear under 2026; the timeline does not prove those facilities are operating.
Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?
Progress, funding and source
- Cost
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Funding
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Area covered
- The named location is verified. An official project boundary has not been matched to current wards; no ward-wide impact is inferred.
No verified ward footprint is assigned.
Welborne: the story so far →
Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.
Questions for the next progress report
- What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
- Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
- Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
- What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?
Keep services in step with Welborne homes →
Make room for homes people can afford →
Target support where disadvantages overlap →
How to track delivery →Welborne employment park
Welborne: first employment park phase
Detailed designs for the first business units have planning approval.
Detailed planning approval; occupied jobs space unverified · evidence dated 2026-05-20
Responsible body: Fareham Borough Council as planning authority; Welborne development partners as delivery bodies
Latest evidence: The decision covers nine units. The council describes job opportunities, not a measured number of new jobs already filled.
Next thing to establish: What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
Progress, funding and source
- Cost
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Funding
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Area covered
- The named location is verified. An official project boundary has not been matched to current wards; no ward-wide impact is inferred.
No verified ward footprint is assigned.
First Welborne employment phase approved, 20 May 2026 →
Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.
Questions for the next progress report
- Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
- Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
- What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?
Connect new business space to local opportunity →
Make room for homes people can afford →
Connect local skills to local opportunities →
Target support where disadvantages overlap →
How to track delivery →Fareham shopping centre and wider town centre
Fareham: town-centre redevelopment
The council is developing plans for homes, business space and improved public areas.
Emerging masterplan proposals; later consent and delivery unverified · evidence dated 2026-02-20
Responsible body: Fareham Borough Council
Latest evidence: The February update described further engagement before an outline planning application. That sequence is a plan rather than evidence of a submitted or approved application.
Next thing to establish: What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
Progress, funding and source
- Cost
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Funding
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Area covered
- The named location is verified. An official project boundary has not been matched to current wards; no ward-wide impact is inferred.
No verified ward footprint is assigned.
Fareham town-centre emerging proposals, 20 February 2026 →
Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.
Questions for the next progress report
- Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
- Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
- What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?
Avoid a gap between a masterplan and a working town centre →
Make room for homes people can afford →
Connect local skills to local opportunities →
Target support where disadvantages overlap →
How to track delivery →Fareham Live, West Street and Fareham Shopping Centre
Fareham Live and the evening town-centre link
The arts venue opened in 2024, alongside changes helping visitors reach town-centre businesses.
Venue open; shopping-centre evening route permanent · source does not state a status date
Responsible body: Fareham Borough Council and the venue operator
Latest evidence: The council records the venue opening in autumn 2024 and the evening route through the shopping centre becoming permanent. Any wider spending or visitor benefit still needs measurement.
Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?
Progress, funding and source
- Cost
- £16.5 million venue cost reported by the council
- Funding
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Area covered
- The named location is verified. An official project boundary has not been matched to current wards; no ward-wide impact is inferred.
No verified ward footprint is assigned.
Town-centre projects: what has been delivered →
Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.
Questions for the next progress report
- Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
- Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
- What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?
Make the most of Fareham Live and existing businesses →
Avoid a gap between a masterplan and a working town centre →
Connect local skills to local opportunities →
Target support where disadvantages overlap →
How to track delivery →Swordfish Business Park, Daedalus
Daedalus: Swordfish Business Park
The council sought views on new business space at Daedalus.
Public consultation on emerging proposals; build approval unverified · evidence dated 2026-07-22
Responsible body: Fareham Borough Council
Latest evidence: The July announcement invited resident and business feedback. It is not evidence that development is approved, funded in full or built.
Next thing to establish: What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
Progress, funding and source
- Cost
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Funding
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Area covered
- The named location is verified. An official project boundary has not been matched to current wards; no ward-wide impact is inferred.
No verified ward footprint is assigned.
Swordfish Business Park consultation, 22 July 2026 →
Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.
Questions for the next progress report
- Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
- Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
- What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?
Connect new business space to local opportunity →
Connect local skills to local opportunities →
How to track delivery →