Skip to content
Hampshire Counts — Hampshire, in numbers.Local help →

Havant · Hampshire

Projects: Havant

Havant local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

The local plans, investments and decisions worth following.

These are 7 selected projects and programmes checked against official sources. A plan is not a completed project; each record shows what the source establishes.

Emsworth Recreation Ground pavilion

Emsworth: recreation-ground pavilion refurbishment

The council has agreed another contribution towards refurbishing the pavilion.

Funding contribution approved; completed refurbishment unverified · evidence dated 2026-03-05

Responsible body: Havant Borough Council and the pavilion delivery partners

Latest evidence: The spending register records a £20,000 decision in March 2026 for project 174, following an earlier allocation. It warns that allocated money may not yet be spent. This is not a verified full project cost or a completion report.

Next thing to establish: What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
£20,000 neighbourhood developer-levy contribution agreed in March 2026; previous allocations are not treated as a new total.
Area covered
The named location is verified. An official project boundary has not been matched to current wards; no ward-wide impact is inferred.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Neighbourhood developer-levy spending decisions: Emsworth pavilion →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Protect delivery across the borough →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

London Road precinct, Waterlooville

Waterlooville: London Road improvements

Plans cover new paving, seating and planting, with better access along the precinct. The published construction programme is February–October 2027.

Funded; construction scheduled, not confirmed started · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Havant Borough Council and Hampshire County Council

Latest evidence: The council FAQ identifies a £1.8 million budget and an approximately 36-week construction programme. The Friday market is to move within the precinct during works. Expected extra visitors are a forecast, not a measured outcome.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
£1.8 million project budget
Funding
£150,000 neighbourhood developer levy; £650,000 borough regeneration reserves; £1 million strategic developer levy.
Area covered
The named location is verified. An official project boundary has not been matched to current wards; no ward-wide impact is inferred.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Waterlooville public realm improvements — frequently asked questions →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Keep Havant and Waterlooville accessible during works →

Connect local skills to local opportunities →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Bulbeck Road, Havant town centre

Havant: Bulbeck Road housing site

The council plans to clear the former car-park site for housing. Its final housing design remains undecided.

Site preparation and housing proposal; completed homes unverified · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Havant Borough Council

Latest evidence: The council describes the site as the first phase of wider town-centre regeneration. Its indicative capacity is a design test, not homes built or an approved final total.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
£1.65 million Brownfield Land Release Fund grant secured in November 2022 for enabling work; full housing finance not verified.
Area covered
The named location is verified. An official project boundary has not been matched to current wards; no ward-wide impact is inferred.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Havant town centre — Bulbeck Road and vacant shops →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Turn vacant land and shops into useful places →

Make room for homes people can afford →

Connect local skills to local opportunities →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Railway footbridge linking Havant town centre and civic area

Havant: replacement railway footbridge

A wider bridge with gentler ramps is planned to replace a deteriorating structure that needs temporary support.

Project and planning consent approved; construction start not verified · evidence dated 2026-03-10

Responsible body: Hampshire County Council, with Havant Borough Council and Network Rail

Latest evidence: The March update expected work in autumn 2026 and up to 12 months of construction. Railway access permissions govern some work. These dates do not establish that work has begun.

Next thing to establish: Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
£12.8 million confirmed project cost in March 2026
Funding
Transport grant, developer contributions and £2.8 million from Havant Borough Council’s developer levy.
Area covered
The named location is verified. An official project boundary has not been matched to current wards; no ward-wide impact is inferred.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Havant railway footbridge approval, 10 March 2026 →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Keep Havant and Waterlooville accessible during works →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Front Lawn Community Hub, Leigh Park

Leigh Park: Front Lawn sports facilities

A council funding allocation supports development of the community hub’s sports facilities.

Infrastructure funding allocated; finished facilities unverified · evidence dated 2026-02-26

Responsible body: Havant Borough Council and the community hub delivery partners

Latest evidence: The published spending register records £783,000 for the Front Lawn Community Hub Sports Facility Development. Allocation is not expenditure or completion.

Next thing to establish: What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
£783,000 strategic developer levy allocation.
Area covered
The named location is verified. An official project boundary has not been matched to current wards; no ward-wide impact is inferred.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Strategic infrastructure spending decisions →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Protect delivery across the borough →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Hayling Oyster Beds, Hayling Island

Hayling Island: Oyster Beds restoration

A local nature project has an infrastructure funding allocation.

Funding allocated; restoration outcomes unverified · evidence dated 2026-02-26

Responsible body: Havant Borough Council and restoration partners

Latest evidence: The spending register records £65,000 for restoration for nature and people. It does not report the ecological result of completed work.

Next thing to establish: What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
£65,000 strategic developer levy allocation.
Area covered
The named location is verified. An official project boundary has not been matched to current wards; no ward-wide impact is inferred.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Strategic infrastructure spending decisions →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Protect delivery across the borough →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Elizabeth Road, Waterlooville

Waterlooville: accessible play area

The refurbished play area has reopened with inclusive play equipment and picnic seating.

Council reports reopened · evidence dated 2026-07-02

Responsible body: Havant Borough Council

Latest evidence: The council reports a wheelchair-accessible roundabout and other equipment after consultation. Reopening is verified; long-term use and accessibility outcomes have not been measured here.

Next thing to establish: What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
The named location is verified. An official project boundary has not been matched to current wards; no ward-wide impact is inferred.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Elizabeth Road play area reopens, 2 July 2026 →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Build on places residents can already use →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →