Skip to content
Hampshire Counts — Hampshire, in numbers.Local help →

Rushmoor · Hampshire

People and living standards: Rushmoor

Rushmoor local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Rushmoor local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 85,922 in 1991 to 106,185 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Rushmoor council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 86,972 people in 1996; 106,185 people in 2025. 22.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Rushmoor council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199185,922
199287,296
199385,607
199486,325
199587,102
199686,972
199786,892
199889,161
199990,496
200089,390
200190,892
200289,877
200389,727
200489,358
200590,040
200691,065
200791,891
200892,589
200992,572
201093,397
201194,354
201295,581
201396,344
201497,064
201597,682
201699,385
201799,590
201899,372
201999,756
2020100,140
2021100,096
2022101,022
2023103,064
2024105,444
2025106,185
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Rushmoor council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 19,261 people in 1996; 19,619 people in 2025. 1.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Rushmoor council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199117,646
199217,989
199318,153
199418,575
199519,024
199619,261
199719,430
199819,773
199919,781
200019,558
200119,422
200218,992
200318,925
200418,629
200518,685
200618,826
200718,860
200818,808
200918,594
201018,831
201118,969
201219,028
201319,017
201418,955
201519,034
201619,181
201719,153
201818,980
201918,938
202018,969
202118,893
202218,959
202319,194
202419,620
202519,619
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Rushmoor council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 57,804 people in 1996; 70,023 people in 2025. 21.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Rushmoor council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199158,936
199259,848
199357,896
199458,120
199558,301
199657,804
199757,383
199859,153
199960,405
200059,401
200160,908
200260,403
200360,367
200460,261
200560,764
200661,589
200762,228
200862,789
200962,810
201063,229
201163,842
201264,333
201364,645
201464,955
201565,147
201666,412
201766,365
201866,001
201966,036
202066,152
202165,983
202266,491
202368,119
202469,686
202570,023
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Rushmoor council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 9,907 people in 1996; 16,543 people in 2025. 67% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Rushmoor council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
19919,340
19929,459
19939,558
19949,630
19959,777
19969,907
199710,079
199810,235
199910,310
200010,431
200110,562
200210,482
200310,435
200410,468
200510,591
200610,650
200710,803
200810,992
200911,168
201011,337
201111,543
201212,220
201312,682
201413,154
201513,501
201613,792
201714,072
201814,391
201914,782
202015,019
202115,220
202215,572
202315,751
202416,138
202516,543
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 99,759 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Rushmoor · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh14,65814.7%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African2,5312.5%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups2,5782.6%
White77,21977.4%
Other ethnic group2,7732.8%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 93,807 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Rushmoor · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White79,52084.8%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups2,0572.2%
Asian/Asian British9,75510.4%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British1,8682%
Other ethnic group6070.6%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 90,987 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Rushmoor · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White86,95595.6%
Mixed9901.1%
Asian/Asian British1,5961.8%
Black/Black British5700.6%
Chinese/Other8761%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 9.5% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Rushmoor council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £10,380 per person in 1997; £23,498 per person in 2024. 126.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Rushmoor council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199710,380
199810,142
199910,562
200011,058
200111,447
200211,930
200312,198
200412,732
200512,966
200613,285
200713,893
200814,173
200914,962
201015,014
201115,193
201215,844
201316,344
201416,729
201517,520
201617,711
201718,451
201819,026
201919,778
202019,974
202120,338
202221,320
202322,268
202423,498
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Rushmoor council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -2.2% in 1997; -9.5% in 2024. 7.3 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Rushmoor council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-2.2
1998-6.3
1999-6.6
2000-7.1
2001-7.5
2002-5.7
2003-6.4
2004-6.2
2005-7.8
2006-9.3
2007-9.5
2008-10
2009-6.6
2010-7
2011-6.8
2012-6.2
2013-6.7
2014-7.5
2015-7.9
2016-8
2017-6.3
2018-6.8
2019-6.1
2020-4.8
2021-6.9
2022-7.2
2023-8.9
2024-9.5
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

65.6%

21 March 2021 · Rushmoor local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

16.1%

21 March 2021 · Rushmoor local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

18.3%

21 March 2021 · Rushmoor local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

3.8%

21 March 2021 · Rushmoor local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£327,000

July 2026 · Rushmoor local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,385

August 2026 · Rushmoor local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.