Skip to content
Hampshire Counts — Hampshire, in numbers.Local help →

Test Valley · Hampshire

People and living standards: Test Valley

Test Valley local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Test Valley local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 101,288 in 1991 to 135,698 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Test Valley council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 104,586 people in 1996; 135,698 people in 2025. 29.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Test Valley council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991101,288
1992102,231
1993103,475
1994103,490
1995103,645
1996104,586
1997106,589
1998108,310
1999108,711
2000109,341
2001109,965
2002110,387
2003111,271
2004112,049
2005112,811
2006113,530
2007114,433
2008115,101
2009115,251
2010115,814
2011116,698
2012117,462
2013119,068
2014120,478
2015122,256
2016124,155
2017125,250
2018126,474
2019127,652
2020128,858
2021131,158
2022132,879
2023134,368
2024135,169
2025135,698
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Test Valley council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 21,866 people in 1996; 24,175 people in 2025. 10.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Test Valley council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199120,561
199220,939
199321,413
199421,613
199521,655
199621,866
199722,280
199822,634
199922,916
200022,946
200123,026
200222,908
200323,012
200423,047
200522,830
200622,612
200722,398
200822,202
200922,034
201021,858
201121,896
201221,912
201322,126
201422,203
201522,638
201622,999
201723,114
201823,362
201923,402
202023,556
202123,778
202224,258
202324,587
202424,424
202524,175
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Test Valley council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 67,447 people in 1996; 81,055 people in 2025. 20.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Test Valley council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199166,643
199266,963
199367,580
199467,191
199567,012
199667,447
199768,808
199869,932
199969,879
200070,130
200170,396
200270,689
200371,097
200471,596
200572,168
200672,728
200773,227
200873,536
200973,224
201073,077
201173,140
201272,773
201373,275
201473,920
201574,532
201675,483
201775,916
201876,535
201977,308
202077,961
202179,508
202280,046
202380,611
202480,986
202581,055
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Test Valley council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 15,273 people in 1996; 30,468 people in 2025. 99.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Test Valley council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199114,084
199214,329
199314,482
199414,686
199514,978
199615,273
199715,501
199815,744
199915,916
200016,265
200116,543
200216,790
200317,162
200417,406
200517,813
200618,190
200718,808
200819,363
200919,993
201020,879
201121,662
201222,777
201323,667
201424,355
201525,086
201625,673
201726,220
201826,577
201926,942
202027,341
202127,872
202228,575
202329,170
202429,759
202530,468
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 130,491 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Test Valley · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh4,2843.3%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African1,4581.1%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups2,3121.8%
White121,45793.1%
Other ethnic group9800.8%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 116,398 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Test Valley · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White111,64595.9%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,4941.3%
Asian/Asian British2,3682%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British4870.4%
Other ethnic group4040.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 109,801 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Test Valley · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White107,52497.9%
Mixed7090.6%
Asian/Asian British8180.7%
Black/Black British2150.2%
Chinese/Other5350.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 14% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Test Valley council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £12,810 per person in 1997; £29,610 per person in 2024. 131.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Test Valley council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199712,810
199812,884
199913,315
200014,123
200114,670
200214,983
200315,151
200415,882
200516,375
200617,079
200718,003
200818,580
200919,133
201019,070
201119,230
201220,184
201320,739
201420,922
201522,155
201622,256
201722,582
201823,715
201924,224
202023,882
202124,884
202226,089
202327,776
202429,610
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Test Valley council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 20.7% in 1997; 14% in 2024. 6.7 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Test Valley council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199720.7
199819
199917.7
200018.7
200118.6
200218.4
200316.2
200417
200516.5
200616.6
200717.3
200818
200919.5
201018.1
201118
201219.5
201318.4
201415.7
201516.5
201615.6
201714.6
201816.2
201915
202013.8
202113.9
202213.6
202313.6
202414
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

61.7%

21 March 2021 · Test Valley local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

12.3%

21 March 2021 · Test Valley local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

14.1%

21 March 2021 · Test Valley local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

3.9%

21 March 2021 · Test Valley local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£368,000

July 2026 · Test Valley local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,235

August 2026 · Test Valley local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.