Skip to content
Hampshire Counts — Hampshire, in numbers.Local help →

Basingstoke and Deane · Hampshire

People and living standards: Basingstoke and Deane

Basingstoke and Deane local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Basingstoke and Deane local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 145,300 in 1991 to 194,037 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Basingstoke and Deane council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 148,550 people in 1996; 194,037 people in 2025. 30.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Basingstoke and Deane council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991145,300
1992145,629
1993146,402
1994147,348
1995147,803
1996148,550
1997149,162
1998149,176
1999151,213
2000152,179
2001152,874
2002153,641
2003154,833
2004155,737
2005157,499
2006158,765
2007160,183
2008162,036
2009164,135
2010166,364
2011168,550
2012171,272
2013173,300
2014175,144
2015176,838
2016178,352
2017179,083
2018179,828
2019181,396
2020183,125
2021185,713
2022188,147
2023191,157
2024192,965
2025194,037
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Basingstoke and Deane council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 32,142 people in 1996; 36,299 people in 2025. 12.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Basingstoke and Deane council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199130,997
199231,168
199331,428
199431,843
199532,101
199632,142
199732,258
199832,269
199932,512
200032,503
200132,311
200232,385
200332,440
200432,498
200532,649
200632,506
200732,524
200832,682
200933,054
201033,476
201133,955
201234,383
201334,551
201434,769
201534,824
201634,949
201735,146
201835,103
201935,166
202035,304
202135,293
202235,669
202336,155
202436,286
202536,299
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Basingstoke and Deane council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 98,642 people in 1996; 122,209 people in 2025. 23.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Basingstoke and Deane council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199197,555
199297,478
199397,822
199498,151
199598,175
199698,642
199798,923
199898,745
1999100,282
2000100,948
2001101,491
2002101,856
2003102,713
2004103,147
2005104,399
2006105,445
2007106,308
2008107,321
2009108,296
2010109,274
2011110,144
2012110,940
2013111,668
2014112,248
2015113,212
2016114,001
2017114,033
2018114,199
2019114,972
2020116,142
2021118,151
2022119,357
2023121,178
2024121,960
2025122,209
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Basingstoke and Deane council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 17,766 people in 1996; 35,529 people in 2025. 100% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Basingstoke and Deane council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199116,748
199216,983
199317,152
199417,354
199517,527
199617,766
199717,981
199818,162
199918,419
200018,728
200119,072
200219,400
200319,680
200420,092
200520,451
200620,814
200721,351
200822,033
200922,785
201023,614
201124,451
201225,949
201327,081
201428,127
201528,802
201629,402
201729,904
201830,526
201931,258
202031,679
202132,269
202233,121
202333,824
202434,719
202535,529
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 185,154 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Basingstoke and Deane · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh10,9675.9%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African3,6112%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups4,7172.5%
White163,84088.5%
Other ethnic group2,0191.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 167,799 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Basingstoke and Deane · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White155,88892.9%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups2,8131.7%
Asian/Asian British6,7154%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British1,9091.1%
Other ethnic group4740.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 152,573 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Basingstoke and Deane · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White147,33296.6%
Mixed1,5531%
Asian/Asian British1,8691.2%
Black/Black British8870.6%
Chinese/Other9320.6%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 11.7% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Basingstoke and Deane council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £14,359 per person in 1997; £29,000 per person in 2024. 102% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Basingstoke and Deane council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199714,359
199814,532
199914,830
200015,532
200116,036
200216,297
200316,515
200417,283
200517,577
200618,102
200719,168
200819,600
200919,746
201019,533
201119,616
201220,279
201320,867
201421,297
201522,684
201622,594
201723,338
201824,065
201924,493
202023,824
202124,437
202225,820
202327,334
202429,000
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Basingstoke and Deane council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 35.3% in 1997; 11.7% in 2024. 23.6 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Basingstoke and Deane council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199735.3
199834.2
199931.1
200030.5
200129.6
200228.8
200326.7
200427.3
200525
200623.6
200724.9
200824.5
200923.3
201020.9
201120.4
201220.1
201319.1
201417.8
201519.2
201617.3
201718.5
201817.9
201916.2
202013.5
202111.9
202212.4
202311.8
202411.7
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

64.7%

21 March 2021 · Basingstoke and Deane local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

13%

21 March 2021 · Basingstoke and Deane local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

14.2%

21 March 2021 · Basingstoke and Deane local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

3.7%

21 March 2021 · Basingstoke and Deane local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£370,000

July 2026 · Basingstoke and Deane local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,309

August 2026 · Basingstoke and Deane local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.