Skip to content
Hampshire Counts — Hampshire, in numbers.Local help →

Gosport · Hampshire

People and living standards: Gosport

Gosport local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Gosport local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 76,464 in 1991 to 82,618 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Gosport council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 76,410 people in 1996; 82,618 people in 2025. 8.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Gosport council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199176,464
199276,438
199375,909
199474,798
199574,818
199676,410
199776,924
199876,836
199976,356
200076,796
200176,676
200276,831
200377,585
200478,099
200578,646
200679,579
200780,627
200881,730
200981,961
201082,307
201182,669
201283,063
201383,015
201483,569
201583,834
201684,476
201784,246
201883,700
201983,022
202082,588
202182,169
202282,371
202382,662
202482,727
202582,618
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Gosport council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 16,801 people in 1996; 13,979 people in 2025. 16.8% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Gosport council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199115,964
199216,129
199316,351
199416,553
199516,628
199616,801
199716,872
199816,707
199916,219
200016,125
200115,713
200215,511
200315,457
200415,455
200515,420
200615,469
200715,699
200815,931
200915,881
201016,073
201116,154
201216,039
201315,849
201415,731
201515,554
201615,568
201715,502
201815,301
201915,100
202014,966
202114,689
202214,656
202314,556
202414,321
202513,979
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Gosport council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 48,045 people in 1996; 49,478 people in 2025. 3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Gosport council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199149,411
199249,154
199348,318
199446,913
199546,729
199648,045
199748,399
199848,429
199948,158
200048,483
200148,553
200248,787
200349,425
200449,824
200550,310
200651,167
200751,803
200852,412
200952,485
201052,288
201152,290
201252,190
201351,855
201451,911
201551,987
201652,333
201751,890
201851,400
201950,682
202050,270
202149,823
202249,661
202349,794
202449,734
202549,478
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Gosport council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 11,564 people in 1996; 19,161 people in 2025. 65.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Gosport council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199111,089
199211,155
199311,240
199411,332
199511,461
199611,564
199711,653
199811,700
199911,979
200012,188
200112,410
200212,533
200312,703
200412,820
200512,916
200612,943
200713,125
200813,387
200913,595
201013,946
201114,225
201214,834
201315,311
201415,927
201516,293
201616,575
201716,854
201816,999
201917,240
202017,352
202117,657
202218,054
202318,312
202418,672
202519,161
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 81,949 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Gosport · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh1,1691.4%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African9841.2%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups1,2101.5%
White78,13695.3%
Other ethnic group4500.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 82,622 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Gosport · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White79,68596.4%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,0661.3%
Asian/Asian British1,0731.3%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British5920.7%
Other ethnic group2060.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 76,415 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Gosport · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White75,15098.3%
Mixed4730.6%
Asian/Asian British3500.5%
Black/Black British1660.2%
Chinese/Other2760.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 16% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Gosport council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £8,481 per person in 1997; £21,811 per person in 2024. 157.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Gosport council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19978,481
19988,585
19999,250
20009,603
200110,310
200210,804
200311,155
200411,636
200511,915
200612,262
200712,799
200813,115
200913,913
201013,959
201114,281
201215,095
201315,719
201416,108
201516,694
201616,806
201717,117
201817,753
201918,503
202018,622
202119,145
202219,859
202320,533
202421,811
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Gosport council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -20.1% in 1997; -16% in 2024. 4.1 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Gosport council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-20.1
1998-20.7
1999-18.2
2000-19.3
2001-16.7
2002-14.6
2003-14.4
2004-14.3
2005-15.2
2006-16.3
2007-16.6
2008-16.7
2009-13.1
2010-13.6
2011-12.4
2012-10.6
2013-10.3
2014-10.9
2015-12.2
2016-12.7
2017-13.1
2018-13
2019-12.2
2020-11.3
2021-12.4
2022-13.5
2023-16
2024-16
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

57.3%

21 March 2021 · Gosport local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

18.3%

21 March 2021 · Gosport local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

17.4%

21 March 2021 · Gosport local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5.5%

21 March 2021 · Gosport local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£241,000

July 2026 · Gosport local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,169

August 2026 · Gosport local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.