Skip to content
Hampshire Counts — Hampshire, in numbers.Local help →

Havant · Hampshire

People and living standards: Havant

Havant local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Havant local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 119,814 in 1991 to 127,362 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Havant council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 116,291 people in 1996; 127,362 people in 2025. 9.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Havant council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991119,814
1992118,049
1993116,836
1994118,631
1995117,139
1996116,291
1997116,766
1998116,998
1999117,279
2000117,266
2001116,886
2002117,173
2003117,346
2004117,362
2005117,542
2006117,824
2007118,282
2008119,039
2009119,394
2010120,105
2011120,783
2012120,964
2013121,105
2014121,514
2015122,189
2016123,043
2017123,836
2018124,100
2019124,099
2020124,018
2021124,467
2022124,713
2023125,911
2024126,794
2025127,362
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Havant council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 24,349 people in 1996; 21,713 people in 2025. 10.8% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Havant council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199125,497
199225,122
199324,813
199425,163
199524,724
199624,349
199724,137
199823,962
199923,842
200023,675
200123,257
200222,970
200322,726
200422,533
200522,346
200622,066
200721,954
200821,912
200921,829
201021,821
201121,844
201221,700
201321,485
201421,325
201521,172
201621,309
201721,439
201821,442
201921,533
202021,400
202121,362
202221,477
202321,695
202421,756
202521,713
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Havant council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 71,326 people in 1996; 73,264 people in 2025. 2.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Havant council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199175,411
199273,707
199372,504
199473,529
199572,147
199671,326
199771,644
199871,654
199971,780
200071,664
200171,472
200271,850
200372,092
200471,961
200572,091
200672,445
200772,663
200872,944
200973,020
201073,177
201173,274
201272,720
201372,470
201472,309
201572,709
201672,983
201773,292
201873,217
201972,800
202072,521
202172,691
202272,403
202372,987
202473,198
202573,264
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Havant council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 20,616 people in 1996; 32,385 people in 2025. 57.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Havant council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199118,906
199219,220
199319,519
199419,939
199520,268
199620,616
199720,985
199821,382
199921,657
200021,927
200122,157
200222,353
200322,528
200422,868
200523,105
200623,313
200723,665
200824,183
200924,545
201025,107
201125,665
201226,544
201327,150
201427,880
201528,308
201628,751
201729,105
201829,441
201929,766
202030,097
202130,414
202230,833
202331,229
202431,840
202532,385
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 124,210 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Havant · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh2,1071.7%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African7500.6%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups1,7191.4%
White119,12795.9%
Other ethnic group5070.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 120,684 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Havant · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White117,16297.1%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,5141.3%
Asian/Asian British1,4271.2%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British3880.3%
Other ethnic group1930.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 116,849 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Havant · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White115,15498.5%
Mixed6640.6%
Asian/Asian British4620.4%
Black/Black British1740.1%
Chinese/Other3950.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 1.4% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Havant council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £10,210 per person in 1997; £25,599 per person in 2024. 150.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Havant council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199710,210
199810,329
199910,749
200011,278
200111,955
200212,444
200312,717
200413,396
200513,842
200614,330
200715,178
200815,563
200916,207
201016,291
201116,482
201217,245
201318,017
201418,612
201519,349
201619,360
201719,520
201820,076
201920,432
202020,498
202121,065
202222,557
202324,013
202425,599
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Havant council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -3.8% in 1997; -1.4% in 2024. 2.4 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Havant council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-3.8
1998-4.6
1999-5
2000-5.2
2001-3.4
2002-1.6
2003-2.4
2004-1.3
2005-1.5
2006-2.1
2007-1.1
2008-1.2
20091.2
20100.9
20111.2
20122.1
20132.9
20142.9
20151.7
20160.5
2017-0.9
2018-1.6
2019-3
2020-2.3
2021-3.6
2022-1.8
2023-1.8
2024-1.4
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

54.8%

21 March 2021 · Havant local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

19.1%

21 March 2021 · Havant local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

19.9%

21 March 2021 · Havant local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5.6%

21 March 2021 · Havant local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£316,000

July 2026 · Havant local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,151

August 2026 · Havant local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.